Monday, July 17, 2017

Karphilex 2017 Philatelic Exhibition at Bengaluru – 14th – 16th July 2017.

Karphilex 2017 philatelic exhibition is organized by the Karnataka Philatelic Society at Bengaluru from 14th to 16th July 2017 with the support of Karnataka Postal Circle.

The exhibition was inaugurated by Chief Postmaster General, Karnataka Postal Circle Dr. Charles Lobo on 14th July 2017 at Sri Raja Rajeshwari Kalyana Mantap, Rajaji Nagar, Bengaluru. On the inaugural day, a Souvenir and two Special Covers were released by CPMG Dr. Charles Lobo, renowned philatelist Dr. (Mrs.) Sita Bhateja, KPS President Shri K. Chaitanya Dev and Shir Nikhilesh Melkote of KPS.
Two new special covers released are on Learn Kannada Speak Kannada and Karnataka's Sporting Legends.

Special Cover on Learn Kannada. Speak Kannada – 14th July 2017.

Kannada is one of the ancient languages of India. It is a prominent Dravidian language. In 2008 the Government of India awarded Kannada, the status of classical language. Kannada is a verbal language of 49 letters that are divided into vowels, consonants and yogavahas (neither vowel nor consonant). Kannada letters and digits originate from the Brahmi script of Ashoka period. The phases in evolution of Kannada script can be observed from the period of Badami Chalukyas, Rashtrakutas, Kalyani Chalukyas, Hoysalas, Vijayanagar Empire until the period of Mysore kings. Until recently Halmidi inscription (450-500 AD) was considered as the oldest inscription of Kannada, but recently the Archaeological Survey of India has found an inscription older than Halmidi at Talugunda, near Shiralakoppa in Shikaripura taluk of Shimoga District, Karnataka dating back to 370-450 AD (Special Cover approval no. KTK/57/2017).

Special Cover on Karnataka's Sporting Legends – 14th July 2017.

A Special Cover featuring Prakash Padukone, Anil Kumble and Pankaj Advani, sporting legends of Karnataka (Special Cover approval no. KTK/57/2017).
Prakash Padukone won his first national senior championship in 1971 at the age of 16 and become youngest player to achieve this feat. Thereafter he set a record of nine national titles in a row. He achieved his first major international title in 1978 when he won the men’s singles gold medal at the 1978 Commonwealth Games in Edmonton, Canada. In 1980, he went on to win both the Danish Open and the Swedish Open. His biggest career achievement happened in 1980 when he won the men's singles title at the All England Championship. He won the first Alba World Cup in October 1981 at Kuala Lumpur. After an illustrious playing career, he retired in 1991.

No bowler in history won India more Test matches than Anil Kumble. He played 132 Test matches for India collecting 619 wickets. He also played 271 ODls taking 337 wickets, in the process becoming the highest wicket taker for India in both formats. After having played for 18 years, he announced his retirement from international cricket in November 2008. He holds the World Record for getting all 10 wickets in a single innings of a Test match against Pakistan at Ferozshah Kotla Delhi in 1999 (10 wickets for 74 runs). He is only the second one in history to do this after Jim Laker. He also has captained the Indian Cricket team and served as the Head Coach. He was awarded the Arjuna award in 1995 and the Padmashri in 2005.

At the tender age of 18, Pankaj Advani won his first World Title. He is the only person in history to have won both the billiards and snooker IBSF World Titles as well as the World Professional Billiards Championship. He was the first person ever to win a "Grand Double" (both the points and time formats in the same year) in 2005. Pankaj repeated the same feat at the 2008 World Championships. In 2014, he created a world record by winning the Grand Double for the third time. A gist of his achievements: World Billiards Champion (Points Format) 4 times, World Billiards Champion (Time Format) 7 Times, IBSF World Snooker Champion Twice, IBSF World Six-Red Snooker Champion Twice. He is also 26-time Asian Billiards Champion, and won 29 Junior and Senior National titles. He was awarded the Arjuna Award in 2004, the Rajiv Gandhi Award in 2004, the Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna Award in 2006 and the Padmashri in 2009.

No comments:

Post a Comment