Saturday, July 1, 2017

Commemorative stamp on The Passports Act 1967 – 23rd June 2017.

The Passports Act is an act of the Parliament of India "for the issue of passports and travel documents, to regulate the departure from India of citizens of India and for other persons and for matters incidental or ancillary thereto." The Act applies to whole of India extending to citizens of India living outside the country. The Act replaced the Indian Passport Ordinance 1967 and was enacted by Act 15 of 1967 with retrospective effect from 5 May 1967. The act describes the procedures in getting an Indian passport.

 Commemorative stamp on The Passports Act 1967
In conformity with Article 9 of Indian Constitution, the Act does not allow dual citizenship. Under Section 12 of the Act, a person must surrender his passport if he has acquired the citizenship of foreign country.

On completion of 50 years of ‘The Passports Act, 1967’, a commemorative stamp was issued in denomination of Rs 25 on 24th June 2017 jointly by Minister of State for Communications (Independent Charge) Manoj Sinha, External Affairs Minister Sushma Swaraj, and Ministers of State for External Affairs, Gen VK Singh and MJ Akbar at New Delhi.

Commemorative stamp on The Passports Act 1967

Commemorative stamp on The Passports Act 1967

No comments:

Post a Comment