Monday, September 5, 2016

Commemorative Postage Stamp released on 'Saint Teresa' on 4/9/2016

Mother Teresa, also known as Saint Teresa of Calcutta, (born 26 August 1910 – 5 September 1997) was an Albanian-Indian Roman Catholic nun and missionary. She was born in Skopje (modern Republic of Macedonia), then part of the Kosovo Vilayet in the Ottoman Empire. After having lived in Macedonia for eighteen years, she moved to Ireland and then to India, where she lived for most of her life.

Mother Teresa established the Missionaries of Charity in 1950 with the mission of caring for the poor and the destitute. Today, the branches of Missionaries of Charity in several countries continue their service to humanity, reaching out to the needy, regardless of their religion or social status. Mother Teresa's work has been recognised and acclaimed throughout the world and she received numerous awards and distinctions, prominent among which were Padma Shree in 1962, the Pope John XXIII Peace Prize (1971), the Nobel Peace Prize for humanitarian work in 1979 and the Bharat Ratna in 1980.

Mother Teresa has been declared a saint by Pope Francis on 4th September 2016 at a canonisation ceremony held in Vatican City. The canonization on 4th September comes on the eve of her 19th death anniversary. She will now be known as Saint Teresa of Calcutta (Kolkata).

To celebrate the canonisation of Mother Teresa as a saint, Department of Posts released a commemorative stamp in form of Miniature Sheet in denomination of Rs.50/-. Union Minister of State for Communications Shri Manoj Sinha unveiled the stamp at the function held at the Divine Child High School, Andheri, Mumbai in the presence of Chief Post Master General, Maharashtra Circle, Bishop Agnelo Gracias, Sister Rubella, representing Missionaries of Charity and other dignitaries.

No comments:

Post a Comment