Monday, February 22, 2016

Special Covers on 112 years of City Union Bank and 2016 Mahamaham Celebrations - 15th February 2016.

City Union Bank was originally incorporated as The Kumbakonam Bank Limited, a limited company on 31st October, 1904. The first Memorandum of Association was signed by twenty devoted and prominent citizens of Kumbakonam. The bank in the beginning preferred the role of a regional bank and slowly but steadily built for itself a place in the Delta District Thanjavur. The first Branch of the Bank was opened at Mannargudi on 24th January 1930. Thereafter, branches were opened at Nagapattinam, Sannanallur, Ayyampet, Tirukattupalli, Tiruvarur, Manapparai, Mayuram and Porayar within a span of twenty five years. The Bank was included in the Second Schedule of Reserve Bank of India Act, 1934, on 22nd March 1945. The Bank celebrated its Golden Jubilee on 14th November, 1954 at Kumbakonam.

To mark 112 years of City Union Bank a Special Cover was released on 15th February 2016 at Kumbakonam (Special Cover approval no. TN-8/2016). Meghdoot Postcard on City Union Bank was also released on the occasion.

Mahamaham festival is celebrated once in twelve years at Kumbakonam in Tamilnadu is similar to the 'Kumbhmela' being held at Allahadad. Hindus consider taking a holy dip at the Mahamaham tank on the day of Mahamaham as sacred. This once in a 12 year gala event is being celebrated from 13th to 22nd February 2016. The Mahamaham tank is located in the heart of Kumbakonam town. It covers an area of 6.2 acres and is trapezoidal in shape. The tank is surrounded by 16 small Mandapams (shrines). Brahmatheerthesar, Mukunthar, Thalesar, Rishakesar, Umaipakesar, Nairuthesar, Brahmeesar, Gangatheerthesar and Seshtra Paleesar, are the names of deities located in these Mandapams. There are 21 wells inside the tank in the shape of small spring wells. Beginning the eastern side of the tank, there are 8 wells in the name of celestial deities namely Indra, Yama, Agani, Ninruthi, Vayu, Kubena and Isana respectively. In between the Vayu and Kubera wells, the ninth well is located called Brahma Theertham. Commencing from the north of Vayu Theertham, and ending to the little east of it, there are nine wells indicating the holy rivers of India, namely the Ganges, Yamuna, Godavari, Narmada, Saraswathi, Kaveri, Tungabatra, Krishna and Sarayu. At the centre of all these exists the Sixty-six crore theertham, believed to be the most sacred of all.

A Special Cover on 2016 Mahamaham Celebrations with a special cancellation depicting the sacred tank, its hallowed wells and mandapams was also released on 15th February 2016 (Special Cover approval no. TN-9/2016).

Both Special Covers and Meghdoot Postcard on City Union Bank were released by Kumbakonam Collector Shri N. Subbaiyan in the presence of Superintendent of Police Shri N.M. Mayilvahanan, Kumbakonam, Sub Collector Shri M. Govinda Rao, Postmaster General Shri S.K. Swain, City Union Bank Managing Director Shri N. Kamakoti, Chairman Shri . Balasubramanian, Chief Project Officer Shri S. Balasubramaniam and Municipal Chairperson Rathna Sekar.

For availability of Special Covers please contact: 
Kumbakonam HO:

Trichy Philatelic Bureau:

No comments:

Post a Comment