Wednesday, May 13, 2015

Shri Achal Kumar Joti takes over as new Election Commissioner

Shri Achal Kumar Joti has assumed charge as the new Election Commissioner (EC) of India today. Born on January 23, 1953, Sh. Joti (62), a former Indian Administrative Service (IAS) officer of the 1975 batch retired from active service in January, 2013. He served at various posts in Gujarat including the post of Chief Secretary from 1st of January 2010 to 31st of January 2013. He has also worked as Secretary in the Industry, Revenue and Water Supply Departments. Shri Joti served as the Chairman of the Kandla Port Trust between 1999 and 2004 and as the Managing Director of the Sardar Sarovar Narmada Nigam Ltd (SSNNL). Under his tenure at Election Commission, there would be general election to State legislative assemblies of Bihar, Tamil Nadu, Kerala, West Bengal, Puducherry, Assam, Uttrakhand, Punjab, Manipur, Uttar Pradesh, Goa, Himachal Pradesh and Gujarat. Besides, Presidential as well as Vice-Presidential elections would also be held under his tenure.

No comments:

Post a Comment