Wednesday, December 7, 2016

Special Cover on 30th All India Postal Kabaddi Tournament – 2nd December 2016.

Kabaddi is an ancient game played in many parts of India. The mention of the sport dates back to ancient times and is traced in Indian mythology. It is known by its regional names in different parts of the subcontinent, such as Kapaddi or "Chadukudu" in Tamil Nadu, Kabaddi in Karnataka, Telangana, Gujarat, hadudu in Bengal, kauddi in the Punjab region, chedugudu in Andhra Pradesh and bhavatik in Maldives. Kabaddi received international exposure during the 1936 Berlin Olympics, demonstrated by India. The game was introduced in the Indian National Games at Calcutta in 1938. In 1950 the All India Kabaddi Federation (AIKF) came into existence and framed the rules. The AIKF was reconstituted as The Amateur Kabaddi Federation of India (AKFI) in 1972 and the first national tournament for men was held in Chennai. The game was included for the first time in the Asian Games in Beijing in 1990 where seven teams took part.

The Department of Posts conducts All India Postal Kabaddi Tournament every year in different Postal Circles. 30th All India Postal Kabaddi Tournament was held in Bengaluru at Sree Kanteerava Stadium from 29th November to 2nd December for the year 2016 at the behest of the Directorate of the Department of Posts. Kabbadi team of Karnataka Postal Circle won the tournament for four consecutive years from 2009 to 2013 and became runners-up in 2015. On the occasion of 30th All India Postal Kabaddi Tournament a Special Cover was released on 2nd December 2016 at Bengaluru by Ms Usha Chandrashekar, Chief PMG, Karnataka Circle. (Special Cover approval no. KTK/24/2016).

Only 8 circles took part in the tournament and following are the winners of the 30th All India Postal Kabaddi Tournament. 

Winner : Tamil Nadu Circle

Runners-up : Karnataka Circle

Third position : Andhra Pradesh Circle

No comments:

Post a Comment