Wednesday, November 23, 2016

Commemorative Stamp on Third Battalion The Garhwal Rifles released on 19th November 2016.

The Garhwal Rifles is one of the most decorated infantry regiments of the Indian Army. It was originally raised in 1887 as the 39th (Garhwal) Regiment of the Bengal Army. It then became part of the British Indian Army, and after the Independence of India, it was incorporated into the Indian Army. The 3rd Battalion 39th Garhwal Rifles was formed on 20 August 1916 from transfers from the 1st and 2nd Battalions and was stationed in India for the duration of the First World War. It became the 3rd Battalion 39th Royal Garhwal Rifles in 1921 and then the 3rd Battalion 18th Garhwal Rifles in 1922. The Battalion was first inspected by Brigadier-General O. M. R. Thackwell, Commanding 7th (Meerut) Divisional Area on 18 March 1917.

Commemorative Stamp on Third Battalion The Garhwal Rifles was released on 19th November 2016 jointly by Maj Mukesh Kapila of Army Postal Service and General Officer Command-in-Chief, South Western Command Lieutenant General Sarath Chand, UYSM, AVSM, VSM at Meerut Cantt.

No comments:

Post a Comment