Saturday, November 28, 2015

Special Cover on 31 Glorious Years of Metro railway in Kolkata – 20th November 2015.

Kolkata Metro is the first underground Metro railway in India. It extends from Noapara near Netaji Subhas Chandra Bose Air Port, Kolkata to Kavi Subhash station near Patuli, the busy North-South axis of Kolkata over a length of 27.223 kms. It was the first such form of transport in India, opened for commercial services in 1984. The Metro railway, Kolkata was constructed progressively from 1972 to 2013. Phase-I a length of 16.450 kms from DumDum to Tollygunge (Mahanayak Uttam Kumar) having been completed in 1995 and in Phase-II a length of 5.834 kms from Mahanayak Uttam Kumar to Kavi Nazrul station is completed in August-2009. The last leg upto Kavi Subhash a length of 2.851 kms has been opened in October8, 2010 for commercial operation. On 10th July 2013, Metro services further extended from DumDum to Noapara (2.091 kms).
Metro Railway, Kolkata, celebrated its 31 years of service to “The City of Joy” on 20th November 2015. As part of this programme, a philatelic exhibition on Global Railways was organized at Mahanayak Uttam Kumar Metro Railway station. On the occasion, a special cover on 31 Glorious Years of Metro railway in Kolkata was released on 20th Nov 2015 jointly by Ms. Arundhaty Ghosh, Chief Postmaster General, West Bengal Circle and Shri A.K. Kapoor, General Manager, Metro Railway, Kolkata inside a running Metro Train on 20th November 2015. It is for the first time that a Special Cover is released on a running Metro train. Stamps on railways were also displayed inside a running AC Metro train to enable commuters to view the stamps on display.
Philatelic Exhibition at Metro Railway Kolkata

Special Cover on 31 Glorious Years of Metro railway in Kolkata
Courtesy: Eeshita Basu, Kolkata | Metro Railways, Kolkata

No comments:

Post a Comment