Wednesday, October 26, 2016

Commemorative Postage Stamp on 'National Unity Day' will be released on 31/10/2016

Rashtriya Ekta Diwas (National Unity Day) was introduced by the Government of India and inaugurated by Hon’ble Prime Minister Shri Narendra Modi in 2014. The intent is to pay tribute to Vallabhbhai Patel, who was instrumental in keeping India united. It is to be celebrated on 31 October every year as annual commemoration of the birthday of the Iron Man of India Sardar Vallabhbhai Patel, one of the founding leaders of Republic of India. The official statement for Rashtriya Ekta Diwas by the Home Ministry of India cites that the National Unity Day “will provide an opportunity to re-affirm the inherent strength and resilience of our nation to withstand the actual and potential threats to the unity, integrity and security of our country.”

National Unity Day celebrates the birthday of Patel because, during his term as Home Minister of India, he is credited for the integration of over 550 independent princely states into India from 1947-49 by Independence Act (1947). He is known as the “Bismarck of India”.

This year Department of Posts has decided to release Commemorative Postage Stamp on 'National Unity Day' on 31/10/2016.

All members and track in viewers are once again requested to open one Philately Deposit Account (PDA) in any Head Post Office and get the philately stamps and stationary items at door step.

Source : Wikepedia

No comments:

Post a Comment